Inactive projects you said?
By deleting those projects, all their settings are gone once and for all. Just imagine having to re-configure automatic updates for hundreds of source files that were once properly configured.
By keeping them, the projects’ contribution to the overall word count of the organization is a burden – and we know that because many of you have told us so.
From now on, organization administrators can take advantage of the new feature we introduce today and instead of deleting an inactive project, they can archive it. Let’s see what this actually means:
The project goes into a freeze mode. Users can see it’s there but cannot interact with it.
Its contribution to the total word count of the organization is reduced by 75%. To put that percentage into perspective, assume your organization is on the Plus plan, with a limit of 50K words, and two projects: a Big one (wordcount: 40K) and a Small one (wordcount: 7K). If the Big one is inactive and you archive it, you’ll get an “extra” 30K words (40K * 25% = 10K contributing to the word count) and give Small the opportunity to grow without needing to upgrade to a greater plan.
The settings of the project remain intact. At any given moment, you can restore an archived project and get its fully functional version from the past. Restored projects will contribute fully to your organization’s word count.
You can archive an inactive project – or restore an archived one – by visiting the archive settings of an organization (Organization > Settings > Projects Archive):
Transifex lets you know how many reserved words will be made available again if you archive a specific projects:
So, we’ll ask you one more time: You said you have inactive projects? Then what are you waiting for?